The Monkey Life

When I started working so much and enveloping myself into “The Monkey Business,” I started getting accustomed to yet another store. This wasn’t necessarily so hard for me, and I was starting to acclimate myself quickly.


The routine of the cozy store wasn’t rigorous, and there weren’t too many operational aspects to understand. After first being hired, we were trained but the training wasn’t extensive. As long as you have a solid grasp on customer service, and you research your product and know exactly what merchandise you’ll be selling, the rest is pretty is cake.

I was first trained by one of the keyholders at the store. Usually, keyholder is a term used for someone who is basically a sales associate, but with keys to open and close the store. It is essentially a glorified sales person. Other companies use the term assistant managers for those who have to perform such duties.

After the brief training period, we had to learn about the history of the store, and their global outreach as a brand. This was relatively new for me because the stores I had worked at in the past didn’t necessarily have the most rich history. However, through combining our knowledge of the brand’s history, customer service, and technique, we were successful at selling bags that weren’t exactly inexpensive.

Leave a comment