The Expectation

There’s something that occurs inexplicably often while working in the retail industry. It’s something that has intrigued me over time because I never personally understood it, however that’s neither here nor there.

When certain archetypes of “The Women in Retail” are busy working their lives away, they sometimes become caught up with the routine, especially if they have closing shifts often.

If those women are in a committed relationship and it seems as if their life has stalled (this happens frequently as a result of working in this business), they somehow wind up pregnant at one point or another.

Not to cast aspersions on anyone who winds up in this situation, but I have found this to be true at many of my retail jobs, regardless of what type of store it was. There is at least one or two women who become pregnant at one time or another, and they believe that is how they will start the next chapter in their life.

Again, this isn’t being said in any sort of judgmental way, but there are many who wouldn’t necessarily take that as a sign that having a child is the best way to go.

I know many people who are more secure in their lives to start a family, and it seems as if those who work in retail who wind up in this situation don’t really have any alternatives.

Though, I would think that to be a mistake, it’s not my place to say much because it’s not happening to me and it’s not a situation I’m involved with at all. However, I just feel as if having a child while you’re working in retail will often solidify your role in that industry.

You already have a steady paycheck and benefits, and you’re already comfortable with the retail regimen so why not add something else into the mix? Everything else already seems to be going as well as expected, so if a woman winds up pregnant, why not just go with the flow?

Unfortunately I just shudder to think that people who wind up struggling for so long in order to have a family. It’s a tragic reality so many people face nowadays. Moreover, it’s doesn’t seem to be getting less difficult as time goes on.

Why add something so incredibly hard to your life while you’re not even sustaining a great living? This is a topic that has always crossed my mind, and I have never been able to come out of it with an answer.

Leave a comment