The Structure

Figuring out and discovering how each component of a store operates was exceptionally fascinating to me at the beginning of my retail journey. There was something weirdly alluring about venturing into this type of atmosphere, and I approached it with a solid sense of determination and vigor.

When I started out in “The Beginning,” I didn’t necessarily know what to expect, but that aspect alone excited me.

As previously blogged, the fascination that was attached to helping people make hopefully fabulous decisions about their wardrobe drew me in and grabbed hold for me for a while (“The Trap”).

Whether it was meeting so many new faces (“The People”) to working on “The Truck,” understanding each individual aspect of a business runs was fun for me.

Especially starting from the ground up and ultimately landing on top, albeit not without years of iron-willed strength and an impeccable work ethic.

Then, it would be training and learning how to prioritize tasking, and eventually delegating tasks to others, even if you didn’t necessarily hold a higher title than them. This was a frequent occurrence near the start of my retail route.

From the very first day I worked, grasping concepts came easily to me, and then imparting my knowledge unto others was equally simple. That is one of the main reasons why I believe I stayed in this life so long because I created my own type of home there.

And when it was time to leave, I took with my all of the lessons and memories that helped mold me into the businessman, leader and person I am today.

Leave a comment