The Guard

Once in a while while you’re working in retail, you come across someone who genuinely loves being there. They love working there, all aspects of the business, and having close relationships with other managers and associates.

I definitely came across this person while working at the shoe store. She was innately maternal, though not having had any kids of her own.

She was technically the assistant store manager, but probably should have become the store manager a long time. She was passed over for that specific promotion many times, but her drive never faltered.

One of her main responsibilities for the longest time (until the store eventually moved locations) was scheduling and payroll. This is where her other side surfaced.

As previously discussed in “The Gossip,” she is the classic type of woman who works in retail who loves the power she thinks she yields.

She controls how much money a lot of her associates may make because she gives out hours based on what she feels to be appropriate.

A relic of an older time, she was probably one of the most battered types of children while growing up, especially in high school.

Someone who experienced bullying and who didn’t really shine and come into her own until afterwards. However, should occasionally acting inappropriate, unprofessional and rude be excused based on her treatment in high school?

I don’t think so, regardless, she is someone who invests her all in a store, truly caring about it and devoting her life to it.

Though I didn’t always agree with her, I always respected her a tremendous amount because the skills I learned from her are those I still know. And the lessons she taught me are some I carry with me to this day.

Leave a comment